How to Deploy your own local Ethereum Blockchain on AWS to Develop and Test your dApps

Amlan Chakladar
15 min readSep 15, 2023
aws and ethereum

Blockchain technology has revolutionized the world of decentralized applications, commonly known as dApps. These applications, which run on distributed networks rather than centralized servers, offer unprecedented security, transparency, and immutability. They have the potential to disrupt various industries, from finance to supply chain management, by eliminating intermediaries and enabling trustless interactions.

However the decentralized nature of these dApps, sometimes makes it challenging to test them locally before being deployed to Testnets or MainNet. That is why it becomes very useful if you have a way to spin up your own blockchain where you can test the dApps risk free and without thinking about getting tokens to deploy, which you will need for any deployments to Testnet too. Since I was also facing the same challenge to test the dApps locally, I found this method (described in this post) very useful to create my own local blockchain. Since I use AWS regularly, I thought why not get this deployed to AWS so I can start it whenever I want and start testing my dApps.

In this post I will walkthrough the process of spinning up an AWS EC2 instance and deploying a test Ethereum Blockchain on it which we will use to do a sample dApp deployment and testing. This…

--

--

Amlan Chakladar

Cloud architect and DevOps engineer. Love to code and develop new stuff. A nerd by nature.